Message from the President


James D



It is a great honour to take over as President of the EAASP having been selected by our membership at the Annual General Meeting held on the 4th May. There are a couple of changes to the Executive Group I would like to mention. Chief Superintendent Rob Atkin from Heathrow is the Vice President (Aviation), Inspector Barney Gardom form Bristol is the Aviation Coordinator and Raymond Kint from the Netherlands has taken over the role of Treasurer. I offer a warm welcome to them all as they join what is already an effective and innovative team.


I wish to express my sincere thanks to those leaving the Executive Group this year, I know I speak on behalf of everyone when recognising the contribution they have provided over the years.


Our outgoing president, Peter Van den Berg previously served as the Vice President (Maritime) for many years. During his time with the EAASP he has provided leadership and constant support for our work. He has now retired from the Dutch police service and the EAASP so we wish to thank him for his work and wish him a long and happy retirement.

David Toole is leaving his post as Aviation Secretary after four years loyal service. He was ably assisted by his wife Amylea who provided outstanding secretarial support. They were both very energetic in the support they provided to the organisation and will be sorely missed. We all wish them both the very best for the future.

Finally Fred Berk our treasurer is leaving as he approaches retirement from the Dutch Police Service. He has been meticulous in his management of our financial affairs ensuring association funds and expenditure have been dealt with both ethically and appropriately to support our business needs. We thank him for his hard work over the years and wish him a long and happy retirement.



On the 3rd & 4th May we held our 44th Annual Conference in Gibraltar. We were made most welcome by His Excellency Lieutenant General Edward Davis CB CBE KStJ the Governor & Commander-In-Chief, The Honourable Fabian Picardo QC MP the Chief Minister of Gibraltar, Her Worship the Mayor of Gibraltar Kaiane Aldorino Lopez, Eddie Yome CPM the Commissioner of the Gibraltar Police and John Rodriguez the Gibraltar Collector of Taxes.


Collectively they made us most welcome, their generosity and support was greatly appreciated by all who attended the conference. The conference theme was ‘Developing a flexible and agile security capability that protects our ports in a changing environment’. There were four sessions covering: Cyber, Impact of changing political landscapes on the borders of Europe, Terrorism and Collaborative working across the EU. Each session had a mix of Strategic and Operational speakers followed by separate tactical workshops serving aviation and maritime interests. Feedback received thus far has been excellent and we are content that this was our best conference yet. We have been building upon our experience and guidance from members and speakers over the years and will continue to do so.


As we enter upon this new period under my leadership as President, we will build upon our successes whilst taking a fresh look at our Business Model, Communication Strategy, Roles and Responsibilities, developing a new business agenda with clear lines of responsibility and accountability. We will be consulting our business and academic partners to make sure our work, systems and processes remain fit to meet demands in this modern era.


I would like to thank all who support us in our work, which ensures we remain a forward leaning, modern and innovative organisation that integrates well into other European and International policing organisations thereby providing mutual learning, support and synergy. We will continue to provide the ongoing support and direction to relevant EU funded projects and initiatives.


I look forward to working with you all in the exciting years ahead.





James Douglass IPM

Ports Protective Security Lead

National Counter Terrorism Policing HQ

  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random